RSS Feed

Review for THE ONE THAT GOT AWAY by M.B. Feeney
 

 
 

Title: THE ONE THAT GOT AWAY
Author: M.B. Feeney
Publication Date: February 20th 2015
Source: ARC provided by author in exchange for a honest review
 
 
There’s something about that one person we date in our teens but never become intimate with. Why does a sexless relationship render us unable to stop carrying that person, the what if, with us into our adult life?

For Heidi Johnson, Shane Hughes is her “one that got away.” Through the years, he has stayed in the back of her mind while she became an adult, a mother, and her own person. Meanwhile, Shane has lived a life of regret that he let Heidi go for the wrong reasons: fear and a misguided sense of not wanting to hurt either of them.

When they reconnect online, the memories they’ve tried to suppress over the years return, reigniting the feelings never explored ‘back in the day.’ Will a school reunion in their home town of London, surrounded by old school friends, help the pair address the questions the years apart left unanswered? Or will they still be left with wanting more?  

 
 
My Review
 
Heidi now a mother is endearing with her sense of humour, but never quite got over her first love, and is now trying to get on with life after Jason, the father of her children.
Shane is now with Mel, his girlfriend but not quite fulfilled in his relationship, as Heidi is always at the back of his mind. With his regret of letting her go fifteen years ago.
When they finally meet at a school reunion there is definitely sexual tension between to two of them.
But what will become of them?
 
From the moment I started reading this book I was hooked. I devoured it in three hours.
It wasn’t fluffy or overly sexed, it was just perfect. I loved the different POV’s.
I loved the characters and  immediately fell into their world.  
I adored the book and I love the way it was written, Mich is an awesome writer, her stories suck you in without letting your attention wander.
 
I didn’t want the story of Heidi and Shane to end, I love second chance stories. This is one that that I will read over and over again. I will certainly be recommending to all of my fellows readers.
 
5 Stars
 
One response »

  1. I bloody love you woman! Thank you ❤

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

